CWHL News: Caroline Cameron to Host 2019 CWHL Awards

Toronto, ON – The Canadian Women’s Hockey League announced today that Caroline Cameron of Hockey Central Tonight will host the 2019 CWHL Clarkson Cup Awards, presented by the NHLPA.

The awards are set to take place at the Mattamy Athletic Centre at Ryerson University on March 22. “The CWHL Awards pay recognition to the top players in the league and acknowledges their skills, determination and hard work,” the league stated in today’s press release.

The CWHL awards are given in the following categories:

  • Rookie of the Year
  • Defenseman of the Year
  • Goaltender of the Year
  • Coach of the Year
  • Humanitarian Award
  • Jayna Hefford Trophy for Most Valuable Player
  • Angela James Bowl to Highest Scoring Player
  • Chairman’s Trophy to the top regular season team

Last season, Kelli Stack of the Kunlun Red Star took home the Angela James Bowl, while Jamie Lee Rattray of the Markham Thunder took home the Jayna Hefford MVP Trophy. Les Canadiennes de Montréal were the 2018 Chairman’s Trophy Winner.

This season, the Calgary Inferno sit atop the table with 47 points on the season. Montreal sits in second with 43 points.

Although the Toronto Furies and Markham Thunder square off tonight for the final game of the regular season, Marie-Philip Poulin has alrady secured the Angela James Bowl for the 2018-19 season with 50 points. Canadiennes teammate Ann-Sophie Bettez was the second-highest scorer in the league with 48 points on the season.

Fans can purchase tickets to the award show for $20 ($15 for a group of 10 or more) and $10 for students. For more information visit

Leave a Reply